Should private schools receive government funding:

With the increasing number of private institutions, it becomes pertinent to determine whether government ought to extend finances to privately owned educational institutions. I am of the opinion that public funds should not be made available to private institutions, but rather, be best put to use in developing other sectors of the country. To start with, financing private schools with public funds means additional funds must be provided by the government, consequently, leading to more financial burden and poor standard of living of the masses. To illustrate further, a developing country like Nigeria, with low revenue, would have to cut short on its budget to other sectors of the economy. Sectors such as Healthcare and Security may be subjected to poor management and inefficiency as a result low funding. The overall effect is therefore, a low living standard of the populace. In addition, the current dilapidated state of many public institutions coupled with poor learning environment is bound to be on the increase if government deem it fit to make funds available to private schools. In the past, public schools pride themselves in breeding elites in the society by giving world-class tutoring. For example, Queen's college and Mayflower school in Nigeria, to mention a few, were known to dominate and lead other schools in competitions and conversely, produce world leaders. These high standards have long deteriorated as a result of low funding and will furthermore, suffer greater damage if public funds are channeled towards privately owned schools. In conclusion, government should be concerned with improving the living standard of the people by making funds available to develop public sectors and institutions rather than financing private schools.