In many countries people are living in a "throwaway society" where things are used for a short time and thrown away. What are the causes of this and what problems does it lead to?

In certain nations, citizens live in a throwaway society where items are used for limited time and disposed. Although there are some reasons associated with individuals buying new items frequently, such as overproduction and advertisement, several solutions could be proffered to tackle these issues. There are two main reasons behind the increased throwaway habit in most people today. The first is massive production. Manufacturing process has become a lot easier because of improved technology, hence the reason people tend to discard materials more often than to repair. A recent research in London, United Kingdom, confirms that 75% of young adults would be more likely to replace a damaged item of clothing with a new one rather than fixing as it is easier to buy a replacement. Another reason is advertisement. Manufacturers promote their new products rigorously and capitalize on the needs and wants of customers. For instance, every year companies launch a new model of smart phones. Even though it would have the same functionality as the previous model, people are attracted by the promotions and buy it. Despite the causes associated with common belief of accepting new over renewing old materials, there are two probable solutions to mitigate these issues. Perhaps, the most notable one is encourage recycling. A textile recycling bin should be made available in shops so customers can see how easy it is to recycle unwanted materials. Stickers with illustrations on what to do will suffice. Wearable and clean clothing can be resold to countries in Africa and Eastern Europe while scraps are turned into rags. A further plausible answer would be the government, as well as individuals' cumulative efforts to reduce the wastage production and to save the environment, should be put in place. To sum up, it is true that short time use of things is the normal in many countries, this essay discussed the causes as overproduction and irresistible commercials. Be that as it may, there are possible solutions, such as promoting reuse of materials and self discipline.