Should private schools receive government funding?

In countries such as Australia, there are two types of schools for primary and secondary students: public (government) schools and private schools. Private schools still typically receive funding from the government, something I believe is wrong and should end immediately. The first reason government funding to private schools should be discontinued is simple fairness. Private schools already receive a great deal of money from their tuition fees, not to mention the large donations they are often given by wealthy alumni. To add government money to this is patently unfair to public schools, who often struggle to pay for materials and quality teachers. Secondly, private schools should not receive money because they are not subject to the same controls as public institutions. They might teach subjects that go against the public interest, and many religious private schools discriminate against students who do not practise their religion. They should not, therefore, receive money that comes from taxpayers. Finally, I believe that giving money to private schools is likely to lead to the erosion of the public system. Parents naturally want the best for their children, and so they will fight to send them to private schools that have more resources. In the end it may be impossible for the government to maintain the public school system, which would be a disaster for poorer families. In conclusion, I feel very. , strongly that the funds which go to private schools would be better used if they went towards improving the quality of our public schools, many of which are greatly in need.