Some people think that children should be taught at school to recycle materials and avoid waste. Other people believe that children should be taught this at home.

It is said that human waste is the greatest threat to the planet; therefore recycling and reducing waste is the wisest thing a human can do to curtail further damage. Some people are of the view that schools should teach their pupils about recycling and avoiding waste, while others believe that parents should be responsible for teaching their children about this. This essay will discuss both the views and a conclusion will be drawn. On the one hand, people who put forward the notion that the schools are significant in imbibing these values can argue that children will learn from professional teachers. In other words, teachers can explain the benefits of recycling and the drawbacks of waste more efficiently. Furthermore, schools have specific subjects, which explain the damage done by the waste and what can be done to reduce it. For instance, in geography subject pictures and graphs are used to explain the problem of waste and different ways of recycling is given. Therefore, schools can be of great value in teaching the importance of recycling and reducing waste. On the other hand, some people advocate that children spend more time with their parents at home and more wastage is produced at home. As a result, it would be easier for children to learn from their parents on how to recycle waste produced at home. In conclusion, professional teachers and specific subjects in schools can be beneficial for learning about recycling and waste, while parents can practically demonstrate how to reduce waste. In my opinion, both are equally important for a child.