An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Online shopping is trending nowadays. The number of customers who buy their products online is rising. However, this phenomenon has both benefits and drawbacks. In this essay, I shall provide some facts and opinions related to this trend. On one hand, online shopping is beneficial for customers and society. For example, customers can choose the products freely without any influence from the seller. They also do not have to spend so much time and energy on picking those items. Another example is that people’s average income is increasing because they can become online sellers easily without having any physical stores. There are several market places such as Bukalapak, Tokopedia, Shopee, Alibaba, and so on that help them with selling their products online. Since it is not necessary for sellers to have academic degrees, this trend gives a chance for people who did not pursue higher education and furthermore it levels the social welfare up. On the other hand, online shopping has some drawbacks. For example, customers cannot directly check their purchased products. There are several cases in which customers get unmatched products as they are mentioned on the website. Some customers also complain that it is hard for them to claim warranties. Another disadvantage is that purchasing items online is not 100% safe. For example, it is reported that credit card scams and privacy violence happen to some customers. In conclusion, online shopping trend has positive impacts on helping customers with buying their products and sellers with selling their items easily. However, we have to concern about some potential threats, for instance, unmatched delivered products, credit card scams, and personal privacy violence.