should physical education be optional in school or not?

There are different opinions about physical education all around the globe. This can be because of the differences in culture, traditions and needs of a country. There are many arguments in terms of academics and physical education. Most of the claims academics to be more important for school age children. Obesity is one of the major drawbacks of the modern world. Major reason for obesity is due to the lack of physical activities performed by the children. There are hardly any safe places for the kids to play outside and too much time spent with the kids on mobile phones and computer games are caused by this. Therefore, there is a greater need than ever before to have children to spent time at school doing physical activities. Furthermore, many studies prove that, physical education also helps improve the academic performances. Besides, all children might not be academically skilled. Hence, they should be given a chance to choose a vocation other than academia. On the other hand, every country needs labours in the technical, educational and medical field as well. Therefore, need for academics cannot be ruled out as a whole. It is essential for a growing up child to sustain in today’s world. To conclude, I suggest physical education and academics should go hand in hand to have a balanced curriculum. However, we cannot make a child a teacher or sports person unless he wishes to do so. Thus, let the child have the opportunity to decide what is best for him along with physical education to stay healthy and still be well-educated.