Most school offers some type of physical education program to their students. Why it is important? Should physical education be required or optional?

Different students have different attitude towards physical education lessons - some of them enjoy jogging, playing football and competing with each other, some of them do not. The fact remains that in most of educational institutions PE courses are obligatory for all learners - regardless of their physical abilities and schoolwork. In this essay the level of necessity for physical education program will be discussed. First and foremost, PE programs are developed without taking into account particular student’s physical characteristics - such as body type, weight, lung capacity and etc. As a result, the self-esteem of those who complete tasks relatively worse than others may significantly lower. For example, when a given task is to run 100 meters in 15 seconds, those who suffer from overweight might not succeed as the assignment was not designed for their physique, and, therefore, feel physically handicapped. Thus, national standards for physical education classes should vary in accordance with physical characteristics and abilities of students. Secondly, the majority of high school students are usually overloaded with assignments, homework, projects and exam preparation which leads to anxiety and mental breakdowns. Most learners would agree that if even three hours per week allotted to PE classes would be spared or redistributed for other subjects (such as Math, Physics or Chemistry), which are actually crucial for their future careers, would help to complete most of the assignments on time. However, for those who have free time and care about being physically active physical education classes should still be available. To draw a conclusion, PE programs need to be reconsidered by taking into account physical features in order to be suitable for all students. In addition, physical education lessons should be optional as it would allow students to unload from their schoolwork.