Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why?

Many people believe that governments should spend more money on improving roads and highways. However, other people think that more money should be spent on improving public transportation. Personally, I think that both of these opinions have their advantages and disadvantages. The first reason for improving public transportation is overpopulation. The number of cars is rising dramatically. As a result of this fact, the contemplation of air is increasing that leads to irreversible aftereffects such as the presence of acid rains and different kinds of human diseases. So, the improving of public transportation will reduce pollution. The second reason for this is the possibility to decrease the amount of traffic jam that also has a huge influence on air pollution. Moreover, it will save time and people's money. One does not have to pay for gas for his car, car insurance, repair, oil change and etc. The third reason for this is a sharp decrease in the level of car accidents. People will feel more secure in this case. Road accidents have become a violent issue and people feel that the Government should do something to reduce the accidents happening on the roads daily. However, despite all these advantages, this decision has a few disadvantages. First of all, public transportation means the presence of schedule and working hours. So, one has to wait for a bus or for a train in a subway or call for a taxi in order to get somewhere. Second of all, it is a big chance that one has to spend some time getting to the nearest bus stop or subway entrance. As for roads and highways, I think it is a very important and topical issue. A personal car in this modern world is an essential vehicle. It gives one freedom and independence. Improving roads and highways governments will decrease the number of car accidents and traffic jams. I believe that in several years air pollution can be dramatically reduced by using solar energy to refuel our cars. Finally, I think that governments should spend money on improving public transportation as well as on roads and highways because it will benefit all people.