Should governments make decisions about people’s lifestyle, or should people make their own decisions?

Some people are concerned whether governments should decide what the public’s lifestyle should be, or should people make decisions for themselves. In my opinion, based on some lifestyles such as taking drugs, governments need to react responsibly. When people make their own decisions, they should pay more attention to the consequences. Governments can help people in making decisions on their lifestyle. For instance, people that sell and take drugs, often encourage younger people to follow their lifestyle. This could have a serious influence on society. As a result, governments should make decisions to encourage these people changing the lifestyle of others and if necessary, governments have to use laws to support and maintain their decisions. So based on this situation, governments should make some decisions for people. No matter what decisions people make, they must think about the consequences. Without thinking decisions through, some decisions can lead to an unhealthy lifestyle and can become a threat to lives. For example, smoking can cause a high rate of lung cancer, as well as those exposed to the smoke. Drink driving can lead to serious traffic accidents, as well as threaten other people’s lives. However, governments may never prohibit the selling of cigarettes and alcohol as a deterrent to those not making the right decision. Therefore, people need to make decisions on their own and they must think about the consequences of those decisions. In conclusion, in some situations governments should make decisions, which may be based on laws for encouraging as well as informing people to change their lifestyle, such as taking drugs etc. At the same time, people should make their own decisions on their lifestyle and consider the consequences.