Shops should not be allowed to sell food and drinks that are scientifically proven to be bad for people’s health.

It is argued by some that some school subjects like mathematics and philosophy should not be mandatory because children find it hard to learn them. In my opinion, I completely disagree with making such vital subjects optional due to their immense benefits for children. There are many reasons as to why subjects such as mathematics must be mandatory. Firstly, it teaches children arithmetic skills which are of the utmost importance. If children skipped learning mathematics, they would face multiple challenges when they grow up as they would not be able to manage their finances or calculate their bills. Secondly, mathematics is a fundamental subject and is the base of many other subjects and university majors, thus, learning it is a must. For instance, students who want to major in computer engineering might have never been interested in maths as children, yet not studying it would have been detrimental to their higher education. Regarding philosophy, it is a vital subject for the development of a child’s writing and thinking abilities. Through philosophy, children are encouraged to ask meaningful and complicated questions about life as well as formulate answers and explain them thoroughly to others. This leads to children developing their communication skills as well as pushing them to think deeply in order to answer these questions. Moreover, they are taught how to read and understand complex texts in addition to improving their writing skills by writing about philosophical topics. These critical skills are important for children as they can help them to become well-rounded adults with the ability to think logically. In conclusion, despite children struggling to understand mathematics and philosophy, these subjects are extremely beneficial as they can broaden their horizons and help them later in life.