Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. What do you think is the reason for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Amongst other forms of recreational activity, shopping is recently the most common for the youths in many continents of the world and I think this is happening basically because of peer influence. This in turn is a negative development due to the fact that many youths are now extravagant in spending plus they now compete and engage in unacceptable activities such as stealing in order to meet up with this trend. To begin, one basic reason I believe shopping is gaining popularity among the youths is because of peer influence. Young adults want to flow with the trend of having new clothes, bags, shoes, jewelry and slay in them just like their peers such that any spare time or money they own, all their likely to do is go shopping. Evidently, a research carried out in University of Ghana, 2009, by an undergraduate student on how youths spend their leisure time shows that about 60% of the them spend more of their leisure shopping for new things. Therefore, this is just one reason amongst some others why shopping is becoming increasingly popular among the youths. Nonetheless, this I think is a negative trend because most youths are likely to become extravagant spenders. It is known that quality products especially wears, are quite expensive to purchase but the love for shopping tend to mould these ones to be squanderers, hencez wasting their time and money on unnecessary materials just to satisfy their pleasure. Another point to consider is that youths are likely to compete with each other and also might do whatever it takes for them to shop for new things such as stealing, hence, making the society an unsafe place to live. For example, recently in a news, a young boy of 21 years was arrested for stealing a jewellery worth $2000 fom a shop in Washington, USA. He claimed that he wanted to wear the most expensive necklace to a party organised by his friend. This is likely to be the case of most youths today if shopping remains a growing trend. In conclusion, shopping is becoming increasingly popular among the youths of today in many nations because they want to feel belonged and this is influencing their lifestyle negatively in terms of their spending and behavioral aspect of life.