Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. What do you think is the reason for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

For many youngsters, shopping has become the most loved leisure activity. The primary reasons for this are due to easy accessibility to the internet and discounts offered by business firms. In my opinion, this trend brings a positive development since it forges job opportunities and also aids to generate funds. One of the prime reasons for this trend, I believe, is the easy accessibility of the internet. It is the portal for many online shopping websites such as Amazon and Flipkart, which offers a wide range of latest trending products. To keep up with the current fashion, youngsters do online shopping during their free time. Another reason is discounts offered by a host of production companies. Due to cut-throat competition in the global market, they offer attractive discounts on products to increase their sales. For example, Minta fashion, an online shopping site, offers 20% discounts on new arrivals on weekdays between 8 pm to 12 pm. This attracts many youngsters to grab the best deal on clothing on this time duration. The major benefit of this trend is that it increases job opportunities. Due to increase in demand and supply of items, manufacturing and distribution companies hire more employees. Such recruitment tackles the unemployment issue in third world countries such as India, Pakistan and Bangladesh. For example, Amazon, an international e-commerce site, hired over one lack of sale persons in 2017 as their sales increased by one third as compared to the previous year.  Moreover, it helps to generate funds. As the government levies taxes on each and every purchased goods, increased sales will increase national revenue, which could be utilized to alleviate poverty. In conclusion, young adults allured by discounts and do shopping through the internet in their spare time, which positively influences the GDP of countries and the employment rate.