Over the last few decades, there has been an increase in international tourism. Some people think that tourism is beneficial for local communities and should be encouraged.

Over the years, technological development has made long-distance travel more convenient and safe. Their was a time when crossing geographical boundaries of one's native land was unimaginably difficult considering the amount of time and expenditure it entailed. But with the modern world order, where almost all the nations are well connected thorough a vast network of cheap airliners, maritime transport and superfast trains, taking a trip to foreign land for the sheer purpose of plasure have become much more common. But apart from creating wonderful memories for tourists, international tourism has been shown to have significant effect on the social and ecnomic life of the native communities. In this brief piece, I would argue that along with making rich contribution to the local cultural landscape and diplomatic relations between states, international tourism boosts native economy to a great extent and on the part of host countries, measures should be taken to sustain and increase the inflow of tourists. While visiting a foreign country, tourists avail a multitude of services such as accomodation, travel, hiring guides on certain occassions, taking part in local cultural rituals, etc. Also they tend to purchase a number of things either as memento or just to serve their daily needs. Together, all these different activities create a source of steady income for locals in tourist destinations, as many people make a living by providing services to the tourists in different capacities. Although in most places, the service providers take payment against their services in local currency, many nations allow travellers to make payment in American Dollar, or Euros which helps nation states belonging to continents other than these two to aquire foreign currency which is often beneficial for respective national economies. Thus international tourism serves two different purposes at once by creation of job and enriching economic prospects while also contributing to the foreign currency stock. On the other hand, when people of one nation visits another, they bring some elements of their own cultural practices into into the life of the local community, thereby creating possibilities for cultural transaction. It is not at all uncommon for the hosts and the tourists, who are there as guests in the foreign land to form friendly bond which has often proved to be beneficial in terms of human resource. And more often than not, it has also happened that some visitor has written their account of the land they visited, which allowed the local community to have a fresh insight into their own life from a different perspective and make explicit certain things which didn't appear to then as significant at all because they were all too familiat to things to notice it. Apart from this, people of one country visiting another is often taken as a gesture of peace and friendly relation between the respective states. This becomes especially significatant for the nations which have had tensed relation in the past or a history of violence between them. Therefore, in terms of cultural mixing and diplomatic relations, interntational tourism has been more often than not benifical not only for the host states, but also for the countries that incoming tourists belong to. In conclusion, recapitualting our arguments we can state with certainty that mobility of tourists accross international border helps sustain the local economy, creates job opportunities, serves national interest by facilitating inflow of foreign currency while at the same time providing a space for cultural mixing and forging diplomatic relation between states. And it goes without saying, that keeping the destinations tourist friendly and taking measures to enhance tourist experience would be to the best interest of the native community.