Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is a fact that nowadays, many youths in various countries prefer to relax or catch fun during their free time by visiting one or more shops to purchase items. In my opinion, this is a laudable development. The rationale behind this trend and my opinion will be discussed below. There are several reasons why shopping has become the major recreational activity adopted by youngsters in many nations. One reason is that it is educative. Recent advances in technology has made manufacturers to improve the way they package their products and ushered in new inventions. Since young minds are always keen to learn new ways, they try to go shopping at their spare time to observe newly improved products and learn its use to develop their intelligence or encourage them to be innovative. For example, a 36 year old man from Lagos, Nigeria recently won two million naira gift from the state government for creating a compressed face towel. He reported that the initiative came as a result of the compressed body towel he saw on Alibaba website. This has become an avenue for many youths in the country to carry out research on consumer products. Despite the above reasons, some people say that this way of life is not beneficial to the young minds. This is because they think that it will lure them to live an extravagant life or spend their income lavishly which in the long run, could lead to covetousness and robbery. On the other hand, I believe that youths who shop as a form of a leisure activity enjoy great benefits. Firstly, going out to buy what one needs is a way to reducing stress after a hectic day at work. Nowadays, the beauty of the shopping malls coupled with the soft music being played in the background all helps to make one happy and forget the pressures of the day. Secondly, visiting shops help them to socialise and develop ones communicating skills. They meet other shoppers, initiate conversation and learn from their experiences. For instance, most malls in Lagos have a game centre and eatery to play games or eat after customers buy what they need. Their main aim is to build friendship among their customers. In conclusion, the younger generation in many countries now spends their idle hours to shop because it is a way they add to their knowledge. This lifestyle is beneficial to them as it helps to alleviate the enormous workload they encounter daily and to improve their social skills.