In modern times, young adults are spending less time with their families and more time with their friends. Why has this change occured? Do you think parents should force their children to spend more time at home?

Nowadays, young people tend to spend more time with their friends than with their families. This change has taken place due to the smaller numbers of people living in each house these days and parents shouldn’t force their children to stay at home as this would not foster good relationships within the family. Young people spend more of their free time with their friends because they generally have fewer family members. Today, a person has to look outside the family unit for someone to interact with as most households are made up of small nuclear families, which is in stark contrast to the past when many siblings, cousins and grandparents all lived together. This inevitably leads to them developing closer relationships with non-family and choosing to enjoy their leisure time outside of the home. For example, in Britain, the number of members per household has decreased by around half in the last 50 years. It is not advisable for a mother or father to oblige their son or daughter to spend more time with them as this will not create a situation where the family bond well with each other. If young adults feel that they have to stay at home under duress, they will be in a bad mood as they don’t have enough control over their lives and they will not enjoy any interactions they have with their parents. For instance, a recent article in the Huffington Post argued that it is the quality of time rather than the quantity that ensures a good parent-child relationship. In conclusion, young people are spending a greater amount of time with their friends than with their families because there is little company available and parents should not force their children to do otherwise because this would damage their relationship rather than improve it.