Shopping has become a new favorite pastime for younger generations. Why is this the case? Should we encourage them to develop other hobbies too?

It must be admitted that young individuals are giving more preference to shopping during their leisure time. This is mainly due to excess disposable income and peer pressure to follow the latest trend. If questioned, I certainly agree that young people should be motivated to develop other hobbies which can keep them healthy and stress-free. Discussing the reasons why young people are preferring to shop during their leisure time. The first and most compelling reason is young people have enough money to spend on such activities. In other words, many jobs are offering youth high salaries and they do not have any responsibility or concern to save for the future. Therefore, they spend on shopping for vivid products without giving a second thought. Another reason is young people are easily influenced by their friends who might be doing window shopping almost every week. For instance, according to a survey conducted by SurveyMoney. com on VR Business mall in Surat, most of the sales of the mall comes from youths who have recently started their career. Having said that, some people argue that young people should be encouraged to spend their free time in more better and useful ways. I certainly agree with the statement and think that young people should indulge their free time in some physical activities such as sports or games instead of spending time in malls. This will help them to be fit and healthy. Young individuals can also join classes that will enable them to enhance their skills which will aid them to better career prospects. For example, those people in the software field can join Artifical intelligence which is growing very fast in today' s market. In conclusion, while it is true that young people are attracted to frequent shopping these days, they should be encouraged to spend time wisely on activities that will help them to lead a more comfortable and healthy life.