Shopping has become a new favourite for younger generation. why is this the case? should we encourage them to develop other hobbies too?

It is true that shopping is becoming increasingly popular among youngsters. Modern marketing methods influence many customers to buy products and make them feeling of instant gratification. I strongly believe that one should adopt other hobbies like sports or art to avoid unnecessary debts. The main cause of this development is that brands invest large amounts of money to collect and analyse customers' data. These modern techniques enable companies to influence customers specifically. Consequently, these advertisements encourage people to purchase goods more often. Moreover, people like to buy expensive products to display there class and standard of living to others. This gives them instant gratification. For example, Rolex wristwatches are way more expensive than other watches. Many people buy these goods to show their class they belong to in society. Furthermore, youngsters should be encouraged to learn or develop other hobbies such as sports or art. Learning these hobbies will not only help youngsters to spend their leisure time effectively but also have them to be financially stable, saving them from unnecessary credits. While sports can keep them physically and mentally fit, art can make them successful in life. in addition to this youngsters can make these hobbies as their career which was not the case in shopping. For example, Virat Kohli, An Indian cricket team member, Loved to play cricket when he was young and when he grew up he decided to make this sport as his career. Now he is one of the most successful sports persons in the world. In conclusion, I think people get influenced by marketing techniques and useless needs, other skills apart from shopping can be developed to avoid the unnecessary debts and effectively utilise leisure time.