Shopping has become a new favorite pastime for young generation. Why is this the case? Should you encourage them to develop other hobbies too?

In today’s world, it has been getting more frequent for youngsters to spend their free time with shopping. In my opinion, this occurs since it is much more affordable and reachable than the past; however, young adults should also be encouraged to do sports in their free time which would ensure them to flourish vigorously in social and mental terms. First and foremost, nowadays, shopping is much easier for teenagers due to modest clothing prices and its accessibility in cities. This is because young people can now buy clothes which are both inexpensive and smart that were not available 20 years ago. Furthermore, they can go shopping in a shopping mall where can be found in every corner of urban zones. For instance, brands such as Zara or H&M is located in plenty of stores and the shirts, pants or shoes of these brands are as cheap as groceries, thus most of the teens can easily buy whatever they wish with their limited budget. Consequently, teenagers are inclined to go shopping more than before due to its rising affordability and commonness in cities or towns. In spite of the attractiveness of shopping, teens should be encouraged to do sports which enable their flourishment abundantly. Considering this, when youngsters participate in sporting activities, they can meet with new friends and be physically active which would make them healthier. To illustrate, it is common to observe that many successful CEO’s of prominent firms played in school basketball teams when they were in college which have forged their friendships in early ages, sustained their health. Besides, they have acquired significant social skills such as being a team player, empathic and disciplined. As a result, young people should spare their time to do sports so as to stay healthy, widen their network and be social individuals which would be helpful in their adult ages. To sum up, shopping has become a favourable habit for youngsters because they can reach and afford it more than before. Apart from shopping, youngsters should spend their time for sports to improve their particular skills which would be useful especially after their adolescence.