Nowadays museums and historical sites are visited mainly bu foreign tourists rather than by locals. Why is this happening? What can be done to get locals to visit museums and historical sites more often?

Although bitter, but it must be admitted that local heritage sites and museums are mostly seen by foreign travellers than by citizens of the county. This is mainly due to lack of interest and high entrance fees. But there are several result-oriented remedies if implemented can reconcile the phenomenon to a greater extent. Focusing on the reasons, the foremost argument for citizens to avoid visiting heritage and museums is the lack of curiosity to visit. In other words, since the vivid mythology and crucial aspects of these sites are conveyed to local people by their ancestors, local citizens are less interested. For example, according to a recent survey in northern India, although Golden Temple, a famous historical site in Punjab was visited by more than 1 million foreign travellers in a year, it attracted only a thousand local human beings. Another significant issue is that there are entry fees for almost all the museums and heritage sites. This factor resists individual to visit these well-known places. Suggesting the solutions to how local individuals can be attracted to visit famous local historic sites and museums. One way to tackle this issue is by organizing not only various knowledge-based seminars; but also vivid theme quiz games. To be precise, conducting some activities like games and seminars will encourage local people to participate and visit renowned museums. Another valid way to solve this issue is by reducing the price of the entry ticket for local people. This will encourage them to visit and gain knowledge practically which was inherited to local individuals from their ancestors. For example, when local authorities reduced the entrance ticket price for local individuals by 20% of Taj Mahal, one of the Seven Wonders of the World in northern India, it attracted 40% more local visitors. In conclusion, despite the fact that local human beings avoid visiting famous heritage sites and museums, if the local authorities and desired caretakers, who are responsible to manage these sites take concreted actions, these problems can be solved to a greater extent.