Several times the employers ask the applicants applying for a job for some personal information like, their hobbies, interests and whether they are married or not. Some people feel it's necessary to ask such questions, whereas the others do not agree. In my opinion, It's a debatable issue.

A plenty of people apply for the empty positions in companies, it's a tough task for an employer to choose the right candidate among many. However, the employers always seek to find the best candidate who suits a specific role required in their business. In order to grow from a company the interests and hobbies of its employees should be matched to their roles. Hence, it helps them to be passionate and dedicated towards their role in the organisation and also keep them concentrated during various tasks, which can create a major difference in the performance and the quality of services delivered by a corporation. Therefore, the interviewers ask candidates some personal questions regarding their interests and leisure activities, and their marital status. Furthermore, certain jobs require a contender to be committed and spending most of his time on working which is not possible for a person who is married. Consequently, they prefer a bachelor rather than a married employee. On the other hand, anybody with the essential background in the field and experience can perform diligently and the employers do not need to worry about the pastime activities, interests and other personal information of an employee, because it's private and doesn't impact the performance of an individual at the job. Furthermore, an employer just only needs a worker to be effort efficient and knowledgeable. In conclusion, I firmly believe that it's the fundamental right of an employer to know some specific details about the applicant which can possibly affect his performance on the job. However, it includes everything, whichever they feel is necessary, but it's totally up-to the job-seeker, whether he wants to share the information with the interviewer or not.