Scientists agree that people are damaging their health by eating too much junk food. Some people think that the answer to this problem is to educate people. Others think education will not work. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued that expanding the number of leisure amenities is the most appropriate way of boosting the health of the general public, while others feel that this is not a viable solution and believe other steps are needed. This essay will argue that sports complexes are not the best answer and education is a more suitable option. A greater availability of recreation facilities might help some become healthier but it is unlikely to have an effect on the unhealthy masses. Most health problems do not stem from a lack of opportunities, but from a lack of motivation. For example, Cambridge University found in a recent study that 62% of men and women who paid for an annual gym membership failed to go entirely after just one month. A public awareness campaign about the dangers a sedentary lifestyle can have on one’s fitness would affect not only people’s well-being but also their understanding of the issue. This is because most men and women are unaware of the harm they are doing to themselves by not exercising regularly and warning them about the risk factors would have a motivating effect. For instance, the ‘Go walking’ campaign in Northern Ireland in 2006 led to obesity-related illnesses, like heart disease and stroke, falling by almost a quarter. In conclusion, although an increased availability of sports centres can influence the wellness of the public to a certain extent, it is only through education that the real benefits can be realised.