: Scientists agree that people are damaging their health by eating too much junk food. Some people think that the answer to this problem is to educate people. Others think education will not work.

These days, the fact that most people have a tendency to consume an enormous amount of junk food is alarming as it can put their health into jeopardy in the future. Thus, it is imperative to take some serious actions to prevent this from continuing. While some people are of the opinion that education should be considered a key to tackle the problem, others hold the belief that education is unlikely to be effective. Although I partly side with the former, this essay will discuss both views. Firstly, many people, especially the young, may underestimate the impacts that junk food can exert on their bodies. It is evident that an excessive consumption of junk food may lead to some kinds of diseases such as obesity, or even diabetes. Accordingly, if individuals are educated about junk food’s dire consequences, they are more likely to refrain themselves from taking it. In fact, nowadays, education may take place in many forms such as presentations, or pictures which will be far more effective than the traditional way of learning. However, there are some people who try to neglect junk food’s negative effects. One of the reasons lies in the fact that it is faster and more convenient to eat junk food than to prepare a meal. Besides, junk food is assumed to be delicious and reasonably priced. Moreover, the immediate detrimental impacts of junk food are not manifest; as a result, people will find it not urgent to start caring for their health. For these reasons, although individuals are educated about ways to protecting themselves by putting an end to this pernicious eating habit, some of them still cannot resist its temptation. In conclusion, apart from education, collaborative efforts among government, schools and individuals might be the optimal choice for this issue.