Scientific research today attempts to go too far. There are certain things in the world which we simply should not try to understand.

It seems that on the issue of how much we should try to understand about our world, there are two schools of thought. Some people argue in favour of acceptance rather than understanding, while others prefer a more scientific approach which supports curiosity and research into all things. Can the former opinion be justified? Some people argue that there are many things in this world that we will never be able to understand, no matter how hard we try. For instance, can we ever really understand the universe? Can we ever really understand our own existence? Can we ever be sure about fully understanding other people? Why then, the argument goes, should we bother to try? Simply because we cannot image being able to understand something, however, does not mean that we should halt all attempts to do so. Even today, apparently, scientists have no idea as to why we blush. Letting others know when we have done something wrong seems counter-evolutionary. However, if we were to discover the reason, it may lead to a revelation about how our mind and body operate. New discoveries can take us to fascinating and exciting new places, and we can all potentially gain and develop from these discoveries. Of course we have no way of knowing where new revelations will come from so we need to explore widely. In conclusion, though it may often seem to us that some things are so complex that perhaps we should not even try to understand them, it is only through understanding that we can gain insight and only from insight that we can truly develop. The enormity of the task therefore is no reason to limit our areas of research