The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this, decline in the quality of life in cities, attempts must be ma

There is an active debate in society these days where some believe that the death sentence is required given the increase in harsh crimes, while others suggest that there are other means should be approached to curb this issue. This essay agrees with the former because the fear of ultimate punishment can surely discourage people from committing such crimes. This essay shall discuss both the points of view. Ending a criminal’s existence in response to some offences is necessary to uphold justice in our community. There are many misdeeds that are so heinous in nature like rape and murder that those can only be met with the extreme response of the law. I agree with this logic because this set an example in the society that murderers or rapist cannot get away with ruining someone's life. The scare of dying impedes people to commit such acts and thereby makes our surroundings a safer place to live in. For example, Saudi Arabia has been able to decrease the count of murders and rape to a great extent due to the extreme punishment in place. Some fractions of the public recommend an alternative approach like a good upbringing of the children to stop the growing numbers of the illegal activities. Their argument is that if a child is given righteous teachings and if he or she is taught to love, respect and tolerate other people, the child grows up to become an upstanding citizen of the community and do not get involved in wrongdoings. I say that no parent imparts negative ideas to their child. Thus although the approach has its own merits, it does not promise us a crime-free world. For instance, a recent study has shown that almost 60% of the prisoners in Rich county jail had very well educated parents with a clear rap sheet. To summarize, there are some acts of inhumanity that can be curbed by putting in place the most extreme form of retaliation by law like the capital punishment. But to make sure that it does not reach to that, parents should inculcate good values in their children from their early childhood days. In my opinion, taking a life is still fair and a lawfully required step to ensure a better society.