scientific research should be conducted under the control of government

Nowadays, science and technology play an indispensable role in human life. However, a question has arisen that whether scientific research should be conducted under the control of the authorities rather than private companies or not. Personally, I completely agree with this idea due to several reasons, which will be discussed in this essay. It is undeniable that the main aim of scientific research carried out by government organizations is to benefit the community. These studies are usually non-profit and involved in such important matters as medicine, environment and education, … Let me adduce a concrete proof, Vietnam Military Medical Academy, to detect coronavirus disease, did try and succeed in inventing test kits, which has given many countries a huge advantage. It is obvious that these researches not only improve the quality of people’s lives, but also help boost the development of the country. In addition, as the authorities controlled research activities, there will be the utmost security and more reliable findings. Also, the risk of intentional information misleading, which can have a negative impact on the national economy and politics, can be minimized. Hence, it is necessary that the responsibility for managing research should be taken by government. Nevertheless, it is argued that private firms should be allowed to implement research so that the authorities will not be under the pressure from the lack of scientists and time. However, I believe that the benefits companies bring with cannot make up for the risks and disadvantages. When private companies undertake studies, they usually try to complete them in such a short time to protect their interest. As a result, the accuracy of the findings cannot be ensured. Furthermore, although companies are given right to do research in science, we cannot see to it that their activities are always under control and not related to illegal experiments such as nuclear weapons. In conclusion, the government should be the controller of scientific research.