Money offered for post graduate research is limited; as a consequence, some people argue that financial support from the government should only be provided for scientific research rather than research for less useful subjects.

Due to limited availability of funds for higher education, it is often recommended that financial assistance should be offered to scientific research instead of allocating funds to supplementary subjects. This notion should be accepted as many facts in favour of practical subjects could be considered. Certainly, the major argument in the favour of subsidising science and technology is rooted in the fact that advancement in science and technology not only reflects the prosperity of the nations but also vouchsafes the other domains. To illustrate, it can be said that investments in scientific research, including diagnostic and curative measures ensure the sound health of its people. Secondly, it also paves a way towards the holistic development of a country by facilitating innovations and discoveries. Another compelling reason might be due to unreservedly salience of science in terms of boosting the economy and living standards of the country. To be precise, a technically strong democracy can ensure the safety and security of the nation and stay connected to the rest of the world in order to enhance trade and contribute in elevating the financial status. For instance, owing to the unrivalled quality of equipment, Japan is known as the world’s leading community. However, one might argue that the importance of supplementary subjects such as; economics and statistics should not be neglected as it assists the nation in policy formation and analysing the current situation. Therefore, an equal proportion of financial assistant is required for these areas. From the analysis of the above discussion, one can observe that, evidently, government should pour more money in scientific research owing to its pivotal role in comprehensive growth of a state. Nonetheless, it is pertinent that others domains should be taken into account while distributing the funds.