Scientific research is carried out and controlled by the governments rather than the private companies

These days, scientific research across the world is carried out and controlled sometimes by the governments, sometimes by the private companies. While there are some arguments in favour of scientific research by corporations, I strongly believe in the view that this should be funded and supervised by the state. The private sector argues that it is willing to undertake scientific research, but there are two dangers in this. In terms of the quality and objectivity of the research itself, corporations which carry out this out may be tempt to manipulate results in order to maximize profits. There have been numerous scandals as a result of new products being introduced hurriedly after inadequate trials. For example, thalidomide, developed by German drug company, resulted in the birth of malformed children. From an ethical perspective, leaving research into areas such as genetic engineering in the hands of corporations may have profound social consequences. such as GM crops, which unproven effects which may destroy whole ecosystem as a result of meddling with nature. Although governments have to allocate resources to many areas of public spending, it is essential that they be responsible for scientific research. First, the highest standards can be set by providing funding for university departments to conduct the high-quality research designed to benefit society, not to break into new markets or to gain a competitive edge. Knowledge thus gained can be shared worldwide throughout the academic community. Secondly, government-decision making is the best way to prioritize expenditure on specific areas of research, taking into consideration the needs of society, both present and future. One instance is the development of renewable energy to meet growing demand. All in all, I agree with the statement that the state should bear responsibility for scientific research.