Scientific research is carried out and controlled by the governments rather than the private companies

Higher education is known for its numerous advantages. It is argued that universities should only accept young students with the highest academic performance at school; however, from my own point of view, people of all ages should be accepted at universities despite their marks at school. This essay will examine both sides of the issue. It is claimed that offering places in universities to only youngsters with the highest grades is better than accepting everyone. There is no doubt that higher educational institutes care about their reputation, therefore, they might only accept superior students, who will be able to study hard, and, consequently, gain more skills compared to students with low grades. Not only does this affect the university’s prestige, but it also guarantees that the student is not overloaded. If students with low educational standards enrol in a relatively difficult college, it will end up with failing the courses, so choosing students based on their grades might save them from failing. Even though these reasons might be convincing, it might sound unfair to some people. Quite on the contrary, it is believed that students should all be given the same opportunities in spite of their age and school performance. The first advantage of accepting people of all ages is giving them another chance to continue their education. For instance, something might have prevented them from studying at a university when they were young, so offering them places in universities will help them gain the needed skills to improve their career prospects. A further benefit is avoiding the unfairness of classifying people according to their performance at school. Based on my own experience, school is not always fair. Some students; for example, might have not received the same quality of education as other, which means that they have not been given the opportunity to excel at school due to having poor teachers. To conclude, offering places in universities for only those who achieved high marks at young ages should be stopped and equal chances should be given to everyone. This will allow all graduates to continue their higher education, which will improve the society in the future due to higher employment rate.