Schools should take more responsibility for the health of today’s children. with this statement?

Children these days have many options regarding food and physical activities. However, with little understanding of health issues, they do not always choose wisely, leading some to suggest that schools be held accountable for these kids’ health. While I agree that schools ought to do more to educate students regarding their health, I believe it is ultimately the parents’ duty to ensure their children’s well-being by guiding them toward a healthier lifestyle. A child’s parents are the first line of defense against obesity and disease. They ultimately make the decisions that affect their offspring’s long-term condition: they do the shopping, enroll their children in sports activities, and serve as role models at home. As such, they have to ensure that their children see and understand what is good for them and what is not. For example, parents who order pizza regularly teach their children that this is normal and that pizza is considered a quality meal. If, moreover, these parents do not exercise, neither will their children. Over time, these kids are more susceptible to illnesses as they will not have been properly conditioned to think of their own well-being, and because they view adults as responsible they simply copy their behaviours. Schools, on the other hand, are responsible for children’s education. They should therefore include health awareness classes in the curriculum and have mandatory daily physical education programs. That being said, schools have no control over what a child sees at home. Furthermore, as teachers have new students every year, they have no personal investment in each child’s fitness. These conditions make schools less influential in maintaining students’ wellness, and thus they cannot be held accountable when students sit on the couch all summer watching movies, or go to McDonald’s for dinner with their parents four times a week. In conclusion, schools have the power to educate students on proper nutrition and the importance of exercise. However, it is up to parents to reinforce this education by modeling a wholesome lifestyle for their children.