The media should include more stories which report good news.

It is now ubiquitous to see negative news hit the headlines and appear frequently in the mass media. For this reason, many people believe that media positivity should be encouraged. I agree with this to some extent, but I also think that negative news is not always a bad thing. On the one hand, including good news in the media may have positive effects on the general public. It helps restore our faith in humanity, which inspires moral courses of action to uphold ethical social values. Everyday news headlines are filled with traumatic events such as robbery, murdering, rape or oppression because science has revealed that people are more drawn to unpleasant incidents. Media stories of good news, as opposed to bad news, can also have a positive psychological implication. Such stories can uplift people to become more optimistic and generally improve both physical and mental health. For example, the first ever black hole image captured by a young woman with her brilliant algorithm has inspired people, especially females, to push the boundaries of science. On the other hand, negative stories also show their own certain benefit which helps people to stay aware of problems around them and take actions accordingly. It is clear that shocking headlines can easily draw the attention of the public, so using them as a tool to raise public’s awareness regarding social matters or global issues would be the best way. Having an objective view towards life is crucial for any healthy development of the society and economy. In conclusion, having more good news publicised on the social media would admittedly bring more positives to human life. Although negative news still has an important place in our life, its severity should be realized so that readers can fully reap all the benefits that the media has to offer.