The costs of medical health care are increasing all the time. Governments are finding it difficult to balance the health care budget. Should citizens be totally responsible for their own health costs and take out private health insurance, or is it better to have a comprehensive health care system which provides free health services for all? Discuss

The controversy surrounding the costs of medical health care is something that has been around for a few decades, and so far, it has seemed impossible to find common ground on the matter with each country adopting the measures that best suit them. While some choose to make the people responsible for their own medical costs others believe that the it is the government that should assume the costs of such needs regardless of the economic status of the person involved. Firstly, one must take into ponderation how much money will the state require to support a free health system for everyone, and also take certain theories into account that may cause the amount of cost to increase. For example, now that the patients don’t need to pay for their medical service it is more probable that they will begin to seek professional medical assistant more frequently. On the other hand, one must also consider the lack of humanity that lies on not treating a patient because one cannot afford the bill. Secondly, a patient that is responsible for its own health costs is most certain to get an insurance. Therefore, the government is likely to profit from its payment in the first years while in the latter years of the person’s life is more likely to have debt caused by the weaker physical state the insured person is in. In conclusion, a person can only be responsible for its own health care services if one possesses a job to pay for them and to own the costs of the insurance. But, this being the case it should also be the government responsibility to guarantee each person has a proper job that allows them to owe such expenses. However, if that is not that case and it is impossible to create circumstances for each individual to earn enough money to pay for their medical bills and make sure the insurance companies still obtain profit. In that case, the option of the state providing an understanding health care system is definitely something to be taken into account.