The media should include stories which report good news ,

It is now not uncommon to see negative news hit the headlines and appear frequently in the mass media. For this reason, many people believe that media positivity should be encouraged and I do agree with this idea for two main reasons. First, audiences are increasingly bombarded with negative stories and therefore, good news should be reported more often to balance out. In fact, journalism’s commitment to being the society’s watchdog is understandable, but excessive negativity in the news can be harmful. For instance, after a tragic plane crash in Malaysia was broadcast, news agencies the world over started to report similar accidents during the next months. This created collective fear for traveling by air, which consequently hurt the aviation industry despite the fact that air transport is still the safest option, with incident rates far lower than those for road and rail transport. In this way, an excessive amount of bad news caused distorted views and this is why more good news is worth reporting. Secondly, happiness is highly contagious, hence the need for positive media coverage. Good news can inspire readers or viewers to take action, which can benefit themselves and even society as a whole. The success of Flappy Bird, a mobile game created by Dong Nguyen that caused a global sensation in 2013, has been an encouraging story. Thousands of Vietnamese app developers have subsequently tried to start their own business in order to follow in Dong Nguyen’s footsteps. Although very few of them can achieve similar success, entrepreneurship is promoted, which comes as good news for both developers themselves and the country’s economy. In conclusion, my belief is that news agencies should dedicate more to positive news because it can create a healthy journalism balance and also spread positivity.