Schools should not force children to learn a foreign language.

It is true that some people complain that children should not be forced to learn a foreign language in school. The schooling sistem could be reviewed to give more space to other activities. Despite the fact that there are are other moments in which they can learn this skill, I claim this teaching should be kept. On the one hand is commonly thought that schools give non-priority lessons which could be replaced by others, and language classes are one of these. Kids nowadays are not taught anymore everyday jobs such as cleaning or cooking, because there is no time to do this at school. Indeed, removing a foreign language from the timetable would leave space for other teachings. Also, this does not imply not to teach languages at all, but just post-dating to their adulthood. On the other side kids are quick learner and learning to communicate is very important. As a matter of fact, before the 10 years children are very open minded and can memorize a lot more than an adult would. It also needs to be noticed that not everybody can afford to pay someone to teach their son after school, nor everybody would like to. Furthermore, languages are not only important for cultural aspects, but also because they can allow to move around the world and start a better career. As an example it would be impossible for an Italian to get a job in the United Kingdom without a good knowledge of English. In conclusion, people claim that the teaching of languages should not be compulsory in schools, but I believe that is not only important, but also necessary.