Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends.

It is believed that school systems should help children to have a good grasp of academic knowledge and succeed in formal examinations, whereas subjects such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork which are unnecessary in the schools. I totally disagree with the point of view. Firstly, it is clear that each class has only a few high-flyers who can achieve the top of study, while the majority of children have just desired to make the grade. Consequently, if we concentrate only on academic subjects, a large number of children who fall behind with their studies would miss promotion opportunities because of the lack of other skills. Meanwhile, if schools organise more extra-curriculum activities to instruct children other necessary skills such as cooking and sewing and even repairing simple electrical items, they will have more choices to move up the career ladder after graduating. Secondly, children actually need more skills to live in harmony with others than completing examination in their class. In a sensible way, not all children have a supportive family in which they are taught skills to take care of themselves such as working mothers and single parent households. In formative years, If children are guided DIY skills, they are very influential in shaping children’s personality which enable them to be independent on expensive fast foods and even being ready to support their own parents. It is sure that only one place where many of children can study these important domestic skills is school. In conclusion, I totally disagree that we should follow the educational perspective which only concentrates on academic subjects and getting success in examinations. I believe that domestic skills is essential to be taught in schools