Schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the internet, and they can study just as well at home.

It is true that the digital revolution has had profound effects on important aspects of our lives, including education. While advances in technology have led some people to argue that children no longer need schooling, but should instead study online at home, I completely disagree with such a view. Schools are necessary because they play an essential role in educating children. Firstly, even assuming that all children are computer-literate and have access to the internet at home, teachers impose discipline. In many households, both parents are out at work, so it is unrealistic to imagine a child sitting alone studying online all day, without distractions. Secondly, studying under supervision, children are not only disciplined but their progress is monitored and supervised, with teachers giving feedback and guidance. In this way, children will not fall behind with their studies. Finally, student interaction in the classroom promotes vital social skills of cooperation and teamwork, for example through classroom projects. On the other hand, the internet is unsuitable as a unique teaching tool for children to educate themselves at home. Whereas teachers tailor their teaching strategies to meet the needs of individual students, the internet has no such flexibility. Interactive learning is possible through some online sites, but this can only take the form of multiple-choice questions and answers. It is no substitute for face-to-face learning in which students interact with both teachers and fellow-students. There is another important consideration. The development of the ability to sift information available online only comes later when students enter higher education or enrol on a vocational course. In conclusion, although there are excellent study sites online, schools provide the necessary structural framework in which learning can take place in a disciplined study environment. 289 words