Some people think that not only should professional sports and cultural enterprises be sponsored by the government but also that amateur adult and children groups should get funding. Use specific reasons and examples to support your position.

Sports and cultural activities are a part and parcel of human life. Every individual, at some point in time, would have taken part in sports or cultural activities for fitness, fun, recreation or as a career. Some people opine that the bodies which promote these activities, irrespective of it is professional or amateur, should be funded by the government. In my view, it is a valid argument as funding only the professional groups will neglect the people who don't have access to such bodies. While there is no denying that the professional enterprises create world-class sportsmen and artists, the low-level amateur groups are the ones which inculcate the interests in sports and the arts into the minds of the people right from their childhood. They provide beginner level training, teach discipline and condition people to enter into the professional world. A recent study on sports psychology, conducted by Oxford University, states that sports and cultural clubs in schools played a major role in shaping the sportsmanship and the artistic capabilities of the professionals who have achieved significant success. Furthermore, people residing even in rural areas who do not have exposure and awareness about professional enterprises, have access to such local groups. Hence, these groups can easily spot people who have natural talents and provide a platform for them to improve their skills. As an example, the MRF Pace Foundation, located in the remotest part of Chennai, run by a few sports enthusiasts, has produced more than five international cricket bowlers. To recapitulate, although the professional enterprises strive hard to create truly world-class and competitive people and require a major share of the funding to provide advanced training, the amateur groups and clubs need equal attention and funding as they identify and nurture the right talent and help create a fit, better and happy society.