schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (e. g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e. g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

There has been a difference in subject preferences between girls who often enroll in art classes and boys who tend to study science. This could be explained by several elements, and I think that it is best not to apply any changes to this tendency. The aforementioned situation can be attributable to gender-specific personalities and competence. First, female students are usually attracted to subjects that require tremendous self-discipline and patience like language classes while male students share a common interest in several fields that need considerable analytical abilities to excel at, for example physics or math. Second, it has been proven that each of the two sexes shows distinct competence and excellence at their favored types of subjects. And students certainly choose to participate in classes that they are best at, which is why boys and girls choose different courses to study. In my view, it is rather unnecessary to make changes to this trend. Initially, students choose the environment where they can best cultivate their aptitudes. Therefore, if they were forced to take part in unwanted classes, it would produce undesirable outcomes, especially resentment or negative attitudes toward study at school. Furthermore, students, regardless of gender, should have their freedom of choice. In other words, they should be at liberty to decide what courses they can attend so that they would feel that they are respected and listened to. In conclusion, distinct characteristics and competence between males and females are the causes for the two tendencies toward choosing preferable courses to study at schools or universities, and students should be entitled to participation in any class they find suitable.