In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (e. g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e. g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

Many argue that the arts are often chosen by girls and science is the options of boys in school and universities. This essay will discuss what are the reasons behind this tendency and why they need to be replaced. I wholeheartedly believe that this trend should be changed. To begin with, it is generally believed that boys are good at science-related subjects. This view is rooted so deep in our society that many females have already accepted it. This is more prevalent in developing countries where parents expect their sons to have a career while daughters become moderately educated and finally get married and have a family. For example, Studying in science majors requires more money in most of the countries and this is why parents naturally select their boys to study science. Females, on the other hand, need to take many responsibilities of the family, even during their student life and prefer to have subjects that do not require a great deal of study, as they consider it. Another reason for subject options at school may come from students’ parents who want their children to follow who they would like their children to become in the future. Many parents, for instance, tend to hope their boys pursue some jobs such as scientists rather than artists or musicians because they consider jobs related to the arts are not stable and ideal for men to some extent. As a result, boys and girls just pick up their subjects according to their parents’ wishes without any intention or passion in them. In other words, deciding what to learn at school is students’ opportunities and parents and teachers are not allowed to make it compulsory in order to provide a better education system for students. In conclusion, both boys and girls should equally have the chance to take their options about subjects at school and universities. Women empowerment is quite an important factor for the overall development of a nation and that is why females should be given a fair chance to participate in any subjects including science majors in the schools. This trend would bring more positive outcomes than restricting their fields of education and work