School leavers’ travel or work for a period of time instead of giving directly to the university. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

A gap year has an immense effect on young adults which entails traveling or working. After a gap year, a student begins with his/her further education. It has both pros and cons which I shall discuss in the below paragraphs. There are many benefits of taking some time off before starting University education. Firstly, it is difficult for some student to decide to choose the career path immediately after completing school education. Sometimes, it is difficult to decide which subject to major, so taking up a job helps to find one' s interests. By exploring new avenues, a student finds such interest which he or she never thought of choosing in their wildest dreams. Taking up a job in gap year acts as a catalyst in deciding one' s career path. Secondly, money earned by working in off period helps as financial assistance for parents. Also, it is used for funding higher education. Besides, a student gets to know outside the world. It helps to enhance his or her overall personality. A well planned year attracts the admission committee or future employers. For instance, one of my cousins took up job in sales right after her secondary school and that experience shifted her interests from choosing Arts to doing major in Marketing and today she has topped in the University. As every garden has weeds, a gap year also has downsides. At times, it is difficult to get back to study routine like attending classes or doing homework. Also, earning enough money seemingly feel that education is unimportant. Finally, if this year off from studies is not well planned then it may turn out as a wasted year. I pen down saying that, a well-planned gap year has many benefits which can help one discover their interests and career path which hence help them to firmly decide on a proper course for further study.