Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to the university. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

In most countries, teenagers often travel or do a part-time or full-time job for a certain period of time before entering the university. The advantages to this are that they get work experience and proper saving for, paying their tuition fees and it also brings some disadvantages too. One of a positive side of taking a gap before continuing higher education is getting a valuable work experience by doing part-time or full-time employment. It is true that in many countries a candidate with no experience always struggles to get a good job after finishing tertiary education, whereas, a candidate who has a small experience before entering university often does not struggle to get a job in future. Another positive aspect is saving of some fund. This is because the higher education is so costly that most students do not continue their education, and with such savings not only do they continue their studies, but also do not have to depend on their parents or bank for a loan. There are many negative sides to this but one of them is losing interest to continue the studies. For example, in China, 65% of students who took a gap of 6 months or a year never came back for their further education due to an interest in earning money. Another downside is that getting involved in bad activities. It has seen in many western countries that few students who travel or work for a certain period seem to get involved in bad influences such as, drugs, shoplifting or robbery. In conclusion, even though travelling or doing the job for some period gives an opportunity to have work experience and a small saving, downsides to this is showing an interest for earning money rather than continuing study further.