Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead going directly to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages.

These days, it is observed that the school student after completing this schooling opted to travel or work for a short period of time rather than directly entering into university. This essay closely monitors the benefits as well as drawbacks of such decision of students. When the student after leaving school decides to work or travel then there are chances that once they begin to earn money, they may not prefer to engage themselves again in studies and this would not initially trouble them, but in later stage of life if they get experienced in a particular field, they might not have fair chances of promotion compared to those having less exposure and higher degree of education. On the contrary, if the young adults travel and have work experience in the field of their interest before pursuing for university helps them in knowing people and managing their needs well. It provides them with the real life experience which helps them to make better and mature decisions in life. For instance, a student pursuing pharmacy has worked in a pharmacy store before joining college will help him with his studies as after working he might get more familiar with name and uses of medicines. Also, working prior to entering university may provide supportive amount of money while paying fees, especially for middle class family. In a nutshell, it can be said that if the school leaver travels or works before pursuing higher education, it helps in knowing his interest and obtain real world experience bit at the same time one should not refrain from joining back to university even though they start earning handful amount of money.