School children are becoming far too dependent on computers This is having an alarming effect on reading and writing skills Teachers need to avoid using computers in the classroom at all costs and go back to teaching basic study skills Do you agree or d

Family structure plays a vital role to form a society, but from the past few decades, it is noticed that family structures have changed from joint to nuclear family system and this change has its own pros and cones. I believe that the benefits of these changes are less than its drawbacks. The family, being such an intricate and supportive network, is kept quite private to outsiders. Significant precautions are taken to keep all problems, financial matters and gossip away from public knowledge. This is done as a way to protect one’s family honour and avoid the reputation of the family being shamed Men are generally the main source of income in households throughout Pakistan. According to Islamic custom, in the case that both a husband and wife are employed, the woman's income is considered to be rightfully her own and does not necessarily have to be spent on the upkeep of the home. In traditional homes, it is believed to be a man's sole responsibility to provide for his wife, children and any extended family who reside with them or live elsewhere. This will depend on the economic status of the family, but generally across Pakistan, men are expected to earn for the family while women look after the home and general well-being of the family. Some families still practise the seclusion of women (purdah) by which females can only leave the domestic realm when veiled and accompanied by a man. This custom varies significantly between ethnicities and social backgrounds. For example, Balochis in the highlands generally observe purdah while urban middle-class Pakistanis appear to have stopped doing so. In conclusion, the nuclear family system provides privacy for a family, but its members have to pay its price. They have to handle financial and social problems by themselves. On the other hand, members of the joint family system stand by the side of each other in every situation. Therefore, the joint family system outweighs the nuclear family structure.