School children are becoming far too dependent on computers. This is having an alarming effect on reading and writing skills. Teachers need to avoid using computers in the classroom at all costs and go back to teaching basic study skills.

Advancement in modern technology has made school education much simple and easy nowadays. However, it is adversely affecting individual’s language skills. A deep insight of this is described in below paragraphs. Computer education is almost mandatory in most of the schools from grade 5. I believe pupil learn the basics of sentence formation, grammar, vocabulary at this age only. Introducing usage of computers at this stage deteriorates their language learning abilities because of automatic correction options. For example, if I write an essay in Microsoft word, I don’t really focus on grammatical and spelling mistakes as they can be corrected automatically with a button click. Therefore, usage of technology at learning stages should be restricted. Another disadvantage is the downfall in reading and comprehending capabilities. Due to increased usage of overhead projectors and powerpoint presentation methods, teachers almost stopped the usage of the blackboard. Instead of copying the notes, photocopies are provided to the students. In olden days people used to write in different styles like cursive, chain, multi-font. Today’s student hardly can comprehend these types of writings. My example for the negative impact of this is, if a student has to work in archeology department in future, he may come across a situation of identifying handwritten information about the country’s heritage or wealth. If the student is not trained to read all sorts of handwritings, he may not be succeeding in his job. In summary, my clear opinion is that the usage of the computers at least for the language subjects should be completely forbidden and students should be trained with paper and pen.