Sales companies should recruit people who are hungry for money as they will make the most dedicated workers. Do you think money is the driving force behind hard work? What factors should be taken into consideration when recruiting staff for sales positions?

Recruitment of sales positions is quite different from other job positions. There are multiple view on the skills needed for this role. Many believe that the person should be money minded to perform well. I, however, do not completely agree with this view. According to me, there are multiple other factors as well, which determine the success of an employee in a sales role. The trigger point for a worker to work hard could vary from individual to individual. The main reason for some to believe that money minded people can be good for sales is the nature of the job. For instance, most of the companies provide variable pay to its employees. The more contracts are closed by the staff members, the more benefits they get. This can be a trigger point for many to work hard and perform well. Additionally, the factors such as interpersonal skills are important as well. As a part of the job, one needs to converse with multiple people and tell them about the product in a very interesting way. There is need of being persuasive as well, so that they can convince the prospective customers to buy the product. Other than monetary reasons, healthy and fun work environment is another major factor sales employee could be looking for. If recruiters target any person who is passionate about the task, then it can also prove good for the employer as it means the staff will feel motivated without greed and will perform well. To conclude, multiple people may have multiple trigger points to encourage them to perform better. Typecasting everyone in the sales sector to be a money mind is wrong. The recruiters should look for other details about them such as passion, interpersonal skills etc.