Restricting air travel is the only way to prevent air pollution. Do you agree?

Some people believe that the only method to reduce the air pollution is to limit the number of flights. I do not agree with this viewpoint. In my opinion limiting the number of flights may reduce the air pollution to some extent; however, other measures such as regulating the use of various private modes of transportation such as motorized vehicles and creating awareness about the appalling affects of air pollution can be more fruitful. To begin with, it is undeniable that airplanes cause air pollution as they produce a huge amount of carbon dioxide which causes a lot of pollution in the atmosphere and leads to global warming. For example, it is estimated by Green Peace that up to 13, 000 tonnes of CO2 is released into the atmosphere every year by planes, thus increasing the carbon footprint in the air. Although it is possible to control this pollution by reducing the frequency of flights, it will not fully solve the problem, because the majority of pollutants in the air do not come from aircrafts and as such it cannot be considered the number one cause of air contamination. By contrast, the major cause of air pollution is the emission of poisonous gases by motor vehicles and factories. There are millions of cars on the roads and the vast majority of them run on fossil fuels which cause the emission of dangerous gases. Factories also release obnoxious gases into the atmosphere and reduce air quality. Therefore, limiting the use of such polluting means of transport can be a better solution to mitigate the effect of air pollution. Also factories should be moved from cities to sparsely populated areas. Additionally, the state should educate people about the dangers of polluting the air that we breathe in and encourage them to use non-polluting modes such as bicycles and walking for short distances. In conclusion, although restricting airways can lessen the air pollution, it is not the perfect solution. Pollution is caused by a number of factors and aircrafts just one of them. Hence, restricting air travel is not the right solution to air pollution.