Research into new types of medicine and treatments are essential for improve health and deal with diseases. Who do you think should fund these researches: private companies, individuals or governments?

People pay more attention to health nowadays, so there is more research into medicine and treatments which are aimed to provide more health care. I believe the government should fund these programmes for the reasons I will outline below. The government has the responsibility to serve for citizens including solving their health problems. Health care is public service. They has the organising ability to collect money from tax payers effectively, which can guarantee the stable sources of money. For example, parliaments and assemblies can make the new policy and ensure it is targeted to essential research. In addition, the administrations have the power to ensure that the new medicines are safe. If the studies are supported by governments, then governments will have the authority to control the price. This will protect poor people can also get treated. For the private companies, it is quite obvious that companies produce medicines primarily to make more profit. When the companies control the core information of the new medicine, they can increase prices as they desire, this in turn reduces the availability of medical cures and process through hospitalization to the overall populace of a country. Although the companies’ competition will increase studies’ efficiency, people should not put health at risk. As for the individuals, it is difficult for them to contribute large amounts of money for medical experiments. Direct settlement through payment of medical prescriptions or hospital treatment by ordinary individuals are open to abuse, especially in view of the fact for many people on low income, costs for serious medical conditions and diseases are often highly expensive and would, if they were to pay directly, put them out of their reach. In conclusion and to summarise, governments should play the main role in the improvement of health care research. It will be better if the private companies and the individuals can volunteer to donate money for them.