Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Nowadays, many countries provide regulations to protect their historical place, however, some people still argue that it needs to be replaced with modern buildings. This essay will discuss the importance of taking care historical buildings and explain why it should not stand in the progress of the country. Many old buildings often tell intriguing stories of the country, thus it is incredibly significant to look after them. For instance, the church of England has been standing since 1445 and contain a plethora of events prior the establishment of United Kingdom as a country. Until this date, the building is still being used by many researchers and artists, due to its powerful messages and magnificent arts. Furthermore, these buildings generally attract tourists from all over the world, which allowing the nation to earn more income that will contribute directly to their GDP (Gross Domestic Products). Therefore, taking care of historical buildings is beneficial to the country, as it can help to discover the past events and generate more income. In addition, although history should definitely be remembered and respected by the citizen of the country, it should not stand in the progress. This is due to the fact that it has happened in the past and the country should always be looking forward in order to grow. Many countries these days often produce advance technology such as AI (Artificial Intelligence) or Machine Learning, which was not available a century ago. Hence, incorporating the past with the future generally will prevent the country to grow further as a nation. In conclusion, it is incredibly advantageous to provide laws to protect historical buildings, since it will provide past information and contribute to the country's GDP. Nevertheless, the nation should not let history to stand in the progress, because it will prevent them to be more advanced in the future.