Many crimes are often related to the consumption of alcohol. Some people think that the best way to reduce the crime rate is to ban alcohol. Do you think this is an effective measure against crime? What other solutions can you suggest?

People are easily to commit crimes when they are drunk. Some people consider that banning alcohol can reduce crime rates effectively, while I believe that there are other methods that can be used to solve this issue. No matter how alcohol consumption would affect committing crimes, banning alcohol is not the optimal choice, because it will cause a series of problems. Firstly, alcohol has been regarded a part of people’ life, so banning alcohol is unfair for most law-abiding citizens. It will only ramp up complaints among people rather than solve the crime problem. In addition, the root cause of crimes is people’s maliciousness, while alcohol only plays the role of catalyst during the process. It is commonly known that people with proper values will not harm others or break laws even if they are terribly drunk. It is irresponsible to blame on alcohol. Therefore, alcohol ban cannot eradiate crimes effectively. There are many other measures that can be used to address this issue. The first solution is to provide multidimensional treatment foster care for troubled youth. Youth delinquents will be placed in foster families where they can receive better education or training rather than stay with other troubled teenagers. They will learn to set right values towards the society and how to behave in a socially acceptable way. The second solution is to rise alcohol taxes. When the price of alcohol beyond alcoholic’s affordability, the consumption of alcohol will naturally decrease. As a result, the possibility of alcohol-related crimes, including homicide and automobile incidents, will also be reduced. In conclusion, banning alcohol is not the best solution to reduce crime rates, and I contend that other methods such as offering foster care and raising alcohol taxes can deal with this problem effectively