Reading is more educational than watching videos or TV.

Sometimes it is argued that compared to watching television or internet videos, reading is better for greater learning outcomes. In my opinion, reading different materials can enhance many skills, therefore, I prefer reading over watching videos to gain information and knowledge. Reading is always a better option for educational purposes. Firstly, when we are reading, our brain demands greater concentration to analyse information that eventually enhances the cognitive function of the brain. Secondly, in order to gain knowledge on any topic, it is quite easier to source data from reading materials in terms of, books, magazines, websites, blogs, journal articles, newspapers so on and so forth. Finally, the more we read the more our verbal and writing skills gets better. Hence, due to above reasons, I will always prefer reading than watching a video to make my understanding better on any domain. While watching videos on the internet or TV might be helpful, I still prefer not to use this medium for educational purposes. Most certainly, different online media and television are primarily serving the purpose of entertainment. Hence, most of the time it is quite distracting for many to be focused on one topic. For instance, when I watch any video online, the other suggestions of videos from my past search history keep popping up and make me lose focus on searching and getting stick to one topic. Furthermore, it is not so easy to find convenient learning materials via videos or television media. Therefore, due to these underlying causes, I prefer to use TV or online videos only for entertainment, not for educational usage. In conclusion, I can understand why many people prefer TV or other video-based materials for learning purposes, however, due to the above mentioned valid reasons, I strongly believe that reading is the best way for learning or obtaining knowledge.