Reading for pleasure can develop imagination and language skills better than watching TV.

It is argued by some that reading during leisure time can improve the imagination and the skill to use a language better than watching the television. In my opinion, picking up a book for fun can help the individual to think and use language more effectively. One of the reasons why reading is better than watching a TV set is that the mind imagines objects the eyes cannot directly see. In other words, as one reads a novel, the brain automatically creates pictures for the reader, using the written words in the book, unlike the television which displays images in front of the viewer. For example, University of Michigan conducted a test between two groups of students; one was to read a storybook and the other was to watch a movie. The first group reported that they were able to recollect objects better than the second group. This shows that reading creates a vivid image better than watching a TV programme. A good reason why reading is more important to people than watching a film is that it enhances the linguistic skill of people. This is because reading deals with letters written on a paper, and language as a whole is all about words. As a result, going through certain words on a book helps one to be able to identify and use such words later on. My little cousin, for instance, after being introduced to reading, began speaking and writing in English at the age of four. Thus, reading any written material increases the chances of communicating more effectively. In conclusion, reading helps humans to think and communicate better than watching TV shows. If children can be made to read a lot, then there will be a world filled with creative thinkers.